About The Race

Race History:

The Rivertrail 15K was started in 2003 by the Arkansas Running Klub in order to raise money to pay for more water fountains along the Arkansas River Trail. John Pankey and Alice Stewart were the inaugural winners in 51:59 and 1:05:16, respectively. Angie Herringer would break the female record in 2004, with a 1:02:45 clocking. In 2005, Glen Mays became the first man to break 50 minutes on the course, running 49:13, while Therese Forsberg ran 59:42 to be the first female under an hour.

Gonna GetchaWith race proceeds from the first three years, the Arkansas Running Klub was able to raise enough funds for several new water fountains, but the race ceased after the 2005 running due to venue scheduling conflicts. In 2006, local runners from the Arkansas Running Klub, Cabot Country Cruisers and Little Rock Roadrunners Club missed the race and grouped together to bring it back for the following year. The 2007 RiverTrail 15K was held on February 17th on the same course along the scenic River Trail. The 2007 running was noted for very windy conditions with Glen Mays and Sarah Olney the overall winners. The 2008 race conditions were much calmer, with Glen Mays winning his third River Trail 15K title and Leah Thorvilson smashing the course record with a 56:48 finish.

After the 2008 race, management of the 15K transferred from the Arkansas Running Klub to the Arkansas RRCA. In 2009, rain started just before the race and continued in heavy downpour throughout. No one seemed to mind too much, as 2009 marked the highest numbers of finishers with over 250. The rain didn’t seem to slow anyone either, as Hillary Kogo and Leah Thorvilson broke the overall course records, John Pankey the masters record, Karl Lenser the Grand Masters mark, and Kaitlin Bounds took out the female junior record.

River Trail 15K2010 featured no weather extremes, which may help explain the record shattering 380 finishers, over 100 more runners than ever before. Karl Lenser returned and lowered his own Grand Masters course record while David Williams took several minutes off the male Seniors mark. In 2011, weather again played a factor as a snowstorm postponed the start of the race by 3 hours. The sun came out, the roads cleared and runners came out in big numbers with 370 total finishers, just 10 shy of the all time high from 2010. 2011 marked the debut of a slightly modified course which eliminated the final detour through the soccer complex parking lot after the finish line was in sight. Leah Thorvilson broke her own female course record and Carter Witt smashed the Male Junior mark. The 2012 race saw Debbie Hill set a new female Seniors best. 2013 featured heavy fog early on, clearing to good conditions save for the traditional head wind in the second half of the course as Wojciech Kopec narrowly edged out Maxwell Sawyer in the closest River Trail 15K finish. 2014 was remarkable as runners enjoyed a tailwind on the second half of the course. Mark Ferguson coasted to an easy victory while setting a new Masters course record.